Another weekend in Clovis

This weekend we went to Clovis, CA. We go about once a month for Cole’s martial arts class. We drove up from LA on Friday after work. When we got there at about 10pm, it was 95F. Ridiculous. The next day, he had class for a few hours and I hung out a the house we were staying at for a bit, then I went to Old Town Clovis, which is known for its great antique shops. I love love love the antique stores up there. They are way inexpensive compared to Los Angeles and San Francisco. First, I grabbed a bite to eat at the Parisian Bakery. I had an iced mocha and a blueberry cream cheese crepe:

wpid-20150627_142639.jpg

It was creamy and sweet and intense and completely delightful. I sat and started reading “The Art of Asking,” by Amanda Palmer. So far, I’m really enjoying it. I’ll post my review on Goodreads when I’m done.

Since it was about 105 degrees outside (not even exaggerating), there weren’t many people out and about, or even inside the shops. I went to two shops and purchased some vintage buttons:

image

And then I purchased some Pyrex:

image

This is exactly the Pyrex I’ve been looking for because I’ve been wanting to make a spinach-artichoke dip and these are perfect.

I didn’t spend too much time out but I feel successful about my finds. The buttons were $4 and some change and the Pyrex dishes came out to $19 and some change. So so worth it, especially because I’m sure I would have paid at least $40 for the Pyrex here in LA. If you ever find yourself in Clovis, I recommend the antiquing.

Sunday morning we drove back to Pasadena and had about an hour and a half of down time before heading to our dance class. I’m exhausted.

Published in: on 06/30/2015 at 12:20 AM  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kneesockchronicles.wordpress.com/2015/06/30/another-weekend-in-clovis/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] spent last weekend in Clovis, CA. Clovis has some fantastic antique stores which I wrote about a while ago. While Cole was off doing his martial arts, I went down to the antique shops. I made sure to only […]


Leave a Reply

