No Dress Code

I am judgmental. I know this. When I am in a position where I am educating someone I do my best to keep it turned off. I’m trying to do better at keeping my judgy ways turned off in my every day life. Starting with the mantra, “What other people are wearing is none of my business.” This naturally extends to people’s body types. It is not my place to decide what other people can or cannot wear based on their body type. At one point I used to get a laugh at sites such as People of Wal-Mart, which I refuse to link to here. Now I just see it as mean-spirited and a bit sad. If you don’t care what other people think of what you’re wearing, good on you. If you are wearing what makes YOU feel good/happy/attractive/sexy/powerful, good on you. Maybe those are the only clothes they own that fit. Or the only clothes they own at all. Or the clothes have sentimental meaning or they just *like* them. What do I know? I’m not Tim Gunn. I’m not RuPaul. It is not my job to judge what other people are wearing and honestly, who cares what I think? I am not important. Other people don’t dress for me in the same way that I don’t dress for other people. I wear what I feel like wearing and others should feel free to do so without judgement. And the judgement comes from many different places. Sometimes it makes people feel better about themselves to put others down, even if it’s just internal. Some people won’t admit that maybe they’re judgy because they’re jealous of others’ self-confidence and willingness to put on that bikini even if they don’t look like a swimsuit model. News flash: most of us don’t.

tl;dr I’m trying to be better at minding my own business.

Published in: on 06/30/2015 at 9:09 PM  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kneesockchronicles.wordpress.com/2015/06/30/no-dress-code/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I never know exactly how to feel about judgment, but I do know that it’s unavoidable, even at the most elemental sensory level (i.e., sorting out the flux of impressions). I know that it’s absolutely essential for politics and for thought itself, and that it flows from more sources than any of us are (or even can be?) conscious of.

    That said, de gustibus non disputandum est, chacun à son goût, and Shaw’s “[H]e is a barbarian, and thinks that the customs of his tribe and island are the laws of nature” are all important handbrakes on the chariot of judgment. But I don’t think there’s any getting off the track.

    • I think it’s very important to be judgemental about certain things and I don’t think it’s possible or wise to be completely without judgement. But I think there are productive ways of being judgemental and useless, mean-spirited ways. I’m trying to avoid the latter so much.


Leave a Reply

