Jurassic World at the iPic

Last night we went to the iPic Theater in Pasadena to see “Jurassic World.” We’d never been to an iPic Theater and it was quite the experience. If you aren’t familiar with these movie theaters, they are fancy schmancy. A full bar and lounge outside of the theaters which only seat maybe 30-40 people. Each seat is a recliner and you get a pillow and a blanket. There is place to put your belongings, jackets, shoes, etc. in the large armrest of each seat. There is also a table between each pair of seats and the table has a button. The button calls the server so you can order your food and drinks. Aside from a full bar, they of course have a beer and wine list and the food is both snack foods and entrees (menu), so you could go and have a full meal. Popcorn is complimentary. I had a prickly pear and honey margarita made with liquid nitrogen. I was a little too excited to drink it and burned my tongue because it was so cold. Still, it was delicious. I also ordered warm biscuits filled with Black Forest ham and cheddar cheese and served with a whipped maple butter.

I really enjoyed the movie. I love the original “Jurassic Park” (and pretend numbers 2 and 3 don’t exist) and this film paid homage to it. I was 14 when “Jurassic Park” came out and we saw it in the theatre. Somewhere in a memory box in storage my mom has a ziplock. In that ziplock there is a mangled, shredded, wadded up napkin. This napkin is what I held on to for dear life when we saw “Jurassic Park” in the theater. I typically don’t see movies that are this stressful though and “Jurassic World” gave me a lot of anxiety. Who’s going to get eaten? Why would they make those decisions to go into places that are clearly bad news? I was tense for the whole film and dug my nails into Cole’s arm more than once. But I liked it. And I want a pet velociraptor.

Published in: on 07/02/2015 at 6:36 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kneesockchronicles.wordpress.com/2015/07/02/jurassic-world-at-the-ipic/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

