Update on allergies

We were at the urgent care for about 4 hours total. My lip was still swollen when we left butbit hadn’t gotten worse. I was given a prescription for prednisone for the next few days.

We do not know what caused this reaction. I will go to the bagel shop tomorrow to try to get ingredients for the breakfast sandwich I had which seems the likely culprit. I was also drinking an almond milk latte but I drink that almost daily with no reaction.

Last week I had blood drawn for allergy testing but we were focusing on seafood. I was to have a skin test this Thursday but will have to reschedule because of the meds in my system.

This swollen lip was no joke. It was HUGE. I looked like a racist caricature of a black person from Jim Crow days.

The swelling was mostly down by the time I woke up and completely gone by the time we headed out the door around noon.

This is the first time I’ve ever had a reaction like this. I don’t recommend it.

Published in: on 05/09/2016 at 2:20 AM  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kneesockchronicles.wordpress.com/2016/05/09/update-on-allergies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is so weird and so random.
    I had a gal who worked for me once, came to work with a handkerchief over her lower face, like a western bandit. She had a similar swelling reaction to who-knows-what and looked disfigured underneath the concealment. She came in to work only because she really needed the $, I’m sure. And all the while I was just wishing she could go and get treatment that resolved the problem. (Which apparently was not possible at that time.)
    I’m glad you were able to get some level of treatment and further investigation into the strangeness. It’s bad enough that such things affect one’s body in such random ways, but even worse if it forbodes something potentially fatal (as allergic reactions can sometimes be). I hope you are able to pin down the culprit so you can avoid this in the future.

    • Ugh. Thank you. I hope we can find the culprit.


Leave a Reply

