I toured a sticker factory and it was the best thing ever

I have an obsession with touring factories. Mostly it’s been food-centric such as breweries, distilleries, the Jelly Belly Factory, and the now-gone Mother’s Cookies factory. Last Christmas, my cousin told me that one could tour Mrs. Grossman’s sticker factory.

You guys. YOU GUYS. I FUCKING LOVE STICKERS. I have a large sticker collection (that gets used with the many pieces of snail mail I send out). But I still have some stickers from my childhood that I never used. I still have puffy scratch-n-sniff Strawberry Shortcake stickers. I’m insane, yes, but I have stickers and I love them.

I was practically jumping out of my skin with excitement when we got to the factory. Immediately got a contact high from the glue odor in the air. The tour was short and most areas they did not allow pictures because aside from stickers of bacon and glittery unicorns, they also make wine labels as well as olive oil labels, etc. Mrs. Grossman made her first sticker (for sale) in 1979, the iconic heart sticker. Throughout the tour they handed out stickers and of course, there was a gift shop where I spent way too much money. They did allow us to take pictures of the large rolls of stickers in their 3-months supply area. They try to have 500 different stickers out at a time. They also let us take pictures of their timeline, where it shows what stickers were released in what years. There were a lot of shimmery pastels in the 80’s and I had so many feelings as I looked at, say, 1987 and could say yes, I totally had those stickers (fun fact: I have a freakishly good memory which is a blessing and a curse). Also, Mrs. Grossman’s is the only remaining sticker factory in the United States!

So below are some pictures in the factory and also some photos of the new additions to my hoard of stickers. No pics of my full hoard. They’re all cataloged by subject in an accordion file. See previous sentence about my sanity.

Also, Cole was a super good sport to humor me by taking a sticker selfie. He humors me a lot.

Published in: on 10/25/2016 at 11:50 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kneesockchronicles.wordpress.com/2016/10/25/i-toured-a-sticker-factory-and-it-was-the-best-thing-ever/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

